Harper to be named to the Alberta Order of Excellence
Harper to be named to the Alberta Order of Excellence

Former Conservative prime minister Stephen Harper will be named to the Alberta Order of Excellence later this year.

Following years of a Tory split between the Canadian Alliance and the Progressive Conservatives, Conservatives rallied around Harper to found the Conservative Party of Canada (CPC). Harper went onto unseat Paul Martin’s Liberals and formed a minority government in 2006.

He went on to form two more governments; a minority in 2008, and a majority in 2011. 

Harper is lauded for leading the Canadian people and maintaining a stable economy during the 2008/9 financial crisis. His government worked with the Bank of Canada to support  financial markets and initiated a time-limited fiscal stimulus program.

It also scrapped the long gun registry and the Canadian Wheat Board, which had a monopoly on purchasing wheat since Parliament established the group in 1935.  Harper further pardoned a group of farmers who were arrested for trying to sell their wheat outside the board. 

His other major achievements include substantial criminal justice reforms to impose heavier sentences on violent criminals, and the introduction of tax-free savings accounts for Canadians.

He left politics after his government was defeated by the Trudeau Liberals in 2015. 

Harper is among eight people who will receive the high honour in Edmonton in October, bringing the total count of the Alberta Order of Excellence to 212 members.

The others are Max Foran, Joe Lukacs, Claudette Tardif, Stella Thompson, Jim Carter, Angus Watt, Audrey McFarlane. 

“These outstanding Albertans have enriched our collective journey through their dedication, innovation and leadership. May their stories inspire us all to build vibrant and compassionate communities,” said Lt.-Gov. Salma Lakhani in a press release.

error: Content is protected !!